Today January 18, 2022

2021 Afcon: This group of players can win the trophy – Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac speaks on title chances

Ghana coach, Milovan Rajevac says he is confident his side will put up a good fight and win the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations [Afcon] next year.

The Serbian tactician on Tuesday at the Ghana Football Association [GFA] named his 30-man provisional squad for the 33rd edition of the Afcon scheduled to be hosted in Cameroon.

Ghana having won the last Afcon trophy in 1982 in Libya have struggled to win the ultimate despite coming close in 1992, 2010 and 2015.

Quizzed if the provisional squad are capable of ending the 40 years trophy drought, the 63-year-old gaffer said he strongly believes in the players he has assembled and will make sure they put up a good fight.

“I strongly believe this group of players are ready to fight for the country, they are ready to step up and make the country and themselves proud,” Rajevac said yesterday.

“All of us are aware of the challenge and we are going to do our best to achieve this goal to win the title,” he added.

The Black Stars have officially opened camp today in Doha and will have a 17-day training camp in preparation for the Cup of Nations which kicks off on Sunday, January 09, 2022.

The team will play three friendly games before jetting off to Yaounde for the tournament.

The Ghana Football Association has already concluded talks with Algeria while engagements are ongoing for two additional matches.

Ghana are housed in Group C alongside Morocco, Gabon and Comoros.

Full squad below

Goalkeepers: Joseph Wolacott (Swindon Town), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (Eupen), Richard Attah (Hearts of Oak), Lawrence Ati Zigi (St. Gallen)

Defenders: Andy Yiadom (Reading FC), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC), Baba Abdul Rahman (Reading FC), Gideon Mensah (Girondins Bordeaux), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Khalid Abdul Mumin (Vitoria de Guimaraes)

Midfielders: Baba Iddrissu (Real Mallorca), Edmund Addo (Sherif Tiraspol), Thomas Teye Partey (Arsenal FC), Mubarak Wakaso (Shenzhen FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Daniel Kofi Kyere (St. Pauli), David Abagna (Real Tamale United), Salis Abdul Samed (Clermont Foot)

Wingers: Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Dreams FC), Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha), Kamal Deen Suleymana (Rennes FC), Dede Ayew (Al Sadd SC), Joseph Paintsil (Genk)

Strikers: Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Beitar Jerusalem), Maxwell Abbey Quaye (Great Olympics), Felix Afena Gyan (AS Roma), Benjamin Tetteh (Malatyaspor)

Source: Modern Ghana



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.