Two hundred Accra Diocesan Catholics awarded for exemplary contributions

Accra� More than 200 Catholics in the Accra Diocese have received the Archbishop Dominic Kodwo Andoh Award for distinguishing themselves, this year, at the Parish, Deanery and Diocesan levels towards the 125th Anniversary celebration of the Archdiocese.

The award, the first of its kind, was the highest among the three awards instituted in honour of the three pioneered archbishops of the Diocese to commemorate the Anniversary.

It was to motivate and encourage the parishioners in the Archdiocese to put themselves to the service of God and the Church.

It was designed for parishioners who have been exemplary towards the 125th Anniversary celebration on the parish, deanery and archdiocese levels.

The other two awards; Most Rev. Bishop Bowers Award, was given at the deanery level for parishioners who have distinguished themselves in service, while Most Rev. Bishop Anoff Alexander Noser Award was given at the parish level for deserving parishioners.

The year-long activities, which will be climaxed by Mass Celebration at the Black Star Square in Accra, is on the theme: Arise Catholic Faithful: Rejoice and Renew.

The Most Reverend Archbishop Charles Gabriel Palmer-Buckle, Diocesan Archbishop of Cape Coast with oversight on Accra, said in the future, another award would be instituted for benefactors of the Holy Spirit Cathedral Restoration Project.

He urged all priests to encourage parishioners to honour the GH100.00 levy per person to facilitate the completion of the project.

He said parishioners who would support the project by donating tainted glasses would have their names embossed on them.

The Most Rev. Palmer-Buckle said the idea to institute the awards was mooted last year when the Central Planning Committee was preparing for the Anniversary and sent a proposal to the College of Consultants and Council of Priests, which was approved.

The award would be held from time-to-time as and when it is deemed necessary to serve as motivation for the Catholic Faithful to deepen their faith in God and put up their best for the Church.

He announced that the Bishop Anoff Alexander Noser Award would be presented by parish priests in consultation with the Archbishop to arouse the faith and the interest of their parishioners.

The Most Rev. Palmer-Buckle said his office received the nominations for the awards by the parish priests and pastors from the entire Archdiocese of Accra.

I am really most grateful to you, my dear Pastors, and to all who have worked very hard behind the scenes. I also want to take this opportunity to thank you the priests, especially the religious men and women, who have worked very hard during this year and who have enabled us to identify certain persons and call them for awards, he said.

He expressed gratitude to the religious men and women whose hard work had made the award ceremony a success.

I cannot end my appreciation without acknowledging members of the Central Planning Committee who worked all year round to make the award and the Anniversary celebration a success.

Greater things have small beginnings and I hope that the awards have come to stay under the Archdiocese of Accra and they will be cherished in honour of our illustrious and very revered Shepherds that the Lord our God called in the first one hundred years of the Accra Mission from 1893 to 1992, when we became officially an Archdiocese.

Most Rev. Anoff Alexander Noser SVD was the first Bishop of Accra from 1947 to 1953, followed by the Most Rev. Joseph Oliver Bowers, SVDDJCL from 1953 to 1971.

The Most Rev. Dominic Kwadwo Andoh, DDJCD, was the third Bishop of Accra and the first indigenous bishop of area as well as the first Archbishop of Accra from 1971 to 2005.

Some of the awardees were Justice Alan K. Brobbey, former Supreme Court Judge, Sir Samuel Asubonteng, Chairman of the Catholic Standard, Monsignor Jonathan Ankrah, Very Rev. Fr. Andrews Campbell SVD, Rev. Sister Margaret Orman, Rev. Fr. Pius Agyemang, and Very Rev. Fr. Cordnard Dryer SVD.

Mr Thomas Quao Nyarko, a former Editor of the Catholic Standard and Rev. Fr. Monsignor Pius Gbeglo were awarded posthumously.

Mrs Elizabeth Bulley, an awardee, on behalf of her colleagues, thanked the Archbishop, the Central Planning Committee and the entire Diocese for the honour done them.

Source: Ghana News Agency