Six Journalists of the GNA nominated for GJA Awards

Accra- Six journalists working with the Ghana’s only wire service, the Ghana News Agency (GNA) would receive prizes at the 24th Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Awards.

The Agency has also been selected to pick an award at the ceremony, which would climax the 70th Anniversary celebration of the Association, slated for Saturday, November 23, at the Gold Coast Kempinski Hotel in Accra.

The GNA nominees are Kwaku Osei Bonsu, the Acting Director of Editorial, Anthony Bells Kafui Kanyi, an Editor, Albert Oppong-Ansah, Robert Tachie-Menso Jnr, Proper Kuorsoh and Albert Futukpor, all Chief Reporters.

In all, 39 journalists are going to be recognized with awards at this year’s event.

They include Alice Aryeetey, (GHOne TV), Abigail Annoh, (Ghanaian Times), Adu Gyamfi Marfo (Osagyefo FM), Alberto Mario Noreti (The Spectator), Anim Addo, (UTV), Beryl Ernestina Richter (Joy News), Clara Mlano, (GTV), Charles Benoni Okine, (Graphic Business), Charles Andoh, (the Mirror), Doreen Hammond (Daily Graphic), Edmund Smith-Asante (Daily Graphic) and Evelyn Tengmaa, (TV3).

Others are Geoffrey Buta, (Spectator), Grace Nana Esi Boateng, (Oman FM), Ibrahim Oppong Kwarteng, (GTV), John Vigah, (Ghanaian Times), Justice Baidoo, (Joy News), Kester Aburam Korankye, (Graphic Business), Kingsley Hope, (Ghanaian Times), Kofi Amoah, (TV Africa), Maclean Kwofi, (Graphic Business), Maxwell Akalaare Adombila, (Graphic Business), Moses Dotsey Aklorbortu, (Graphic Business), Nabil Ahmed Rufai, (GHOne TV) and Nana Konadu Agyeman, (Daily Graphic).

The rest are Peter Quao Adattor, (TV3), Portia Garbo, (TV3), Rebecca Kwei, (The Mirror), Samuel Adadi Akapule, (Ghanaian Times), Dan Kweku Yeboah, (Peace FM), Seth Kwame Boateng, (joy News), Ina Thalia Quansah, (Joy News), Janet Abena Quainoo, (GTV), and Kabu Nartey, (Student Journalist GIJ).

Announcing this at a brief ceremony on Monday, Madam Betty Apau Oppong, the Chairperson of the Seven-Member Awards Committee, said a total of 368 entries spanning various categories were received for evaluation.

She gave the criteria for selection as accuracy, balance, relevance, impact, background, ethical standard, initiative and clarity.

She said at the end the assessment, the work of 39 individuals won awards in different categories including Science, Environment, Health, Water, Hygiene and Sanitation and Agriculture.

The rest are Oil and gas, Rural Reporting and Photojournalism, Development Journalist for furthering Sustainable Development Goal, Investigative Reporting, Nutrition, Health, Political Reporting and Human Rights.

The final outcome reflect the work undertaken by the committee as a true non-biased, fair and professional evaluation of the quality and standard of entries received, she added.

Mr Roland Affail Monney, the GJA President congratulated the nominees and urged those who submitted stories but were not shot-listed to work hard to be able to win next year.

The other committee members were Mr. Gabby Bosompem, the Secretary, Mr Albert Sam, Madam Tina Aforo-Yeboah, Mr. Peter Agbeko, Mr. Kwasi Kpodo and Mr. Akwasi Agyemeng.

Source: Ghana News Agency