Eight women to contest NDC Parliamentary primaries in CR

Cape Coast- Eight women are among a total of 64 prospective Parliamentary aspirants who have picked up forms to contest in the upcoming National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary primaries if their nominations go through after vetting.

One of the women, Dr. Nana Ama Browne Klutse , a Physist at the Ghana Atomic Energy ; would be fiercely challenged, for the Abura-Asebu-Kwamankese (AAK) constituency seat by seven strong men including Mr. Felix Kwakye Ofosu, Former Deputy Minister of Communications.

The others include Queenstar Maame Pokuaa Sawyerr, the incumbent Member of Parliament for the Agona East constituency who would lock horns with Maxwell Oko Okai. Paul Ofori Amoah and Richard Bentum vying for Agona West seat.

In Cape Coast South, Ernestina Eno Adu Hagan, is seeking to pull a surprise on the incumbent Cape Coast South MP, Mr. George Kweku Ricketts Hagan who is also the immediate past Central Regional Minister during the Mahama administration and one Henry Osei and Thomas Hughes Amissah.

Madam Margaret Naana Ackom would have it tough with five men: Romeo Quarshie, Desmond Degraft Paitoo, Abraham Bright Bruce Alissa, Michael Buabeng and Joseph Ato Quartey in Gomoa East.

Two of the women, Georgia Dadson and Gizella Tetteh Agbotui would contest with two men, Joseph Tetteh and Gabriel Quaye for the Awutu Senya West seat while Emelia Ankomah and Jenifer Essel are contesting for the Upper Denkyira East and Gomoa West constituency seats respectively.

In the Ekumfi constituency, Mr Abeiku Crentsil, the immediate past MP has picked nomination to seek re-election but would face stiff opposition from his predecessor, Mr. George Kuntu Blankson and three others.

Samuel Atta Mills is staging a comeback in the Komenda-Edina-Eguafo-Abirem constituency and would face two others, Joshua Egyadu Nketsiah and Daniel Austin Ankomah.

Cape Coast North has three contestants, Kwamena Minta Nyarku, Emmanuel Valis Akyianu and Prince Biney.

Godwin Nana Arthur, Isaac Smith Acquah and Foster Joseph Andoh are contesting in Hemang Lower Denkyira and in the Twifo Ati Mokwa constituency, Samuel Ato Amoah and T. D. Vondee would strongly contest.

James Joe Quayson Jnr would go unopposed in Assin North with Shaibu Nuregin Migyimah and Alex Antwi Boasiako for Assin Central and Nicholas Nana Baffoe, Kofi Nyarkodan Kuranchie and Nana Kwabena Adjei Anomafo for Assin South.

Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa has three contestants; Alhassan Kobina Ghansah, Michael Harry Amissah Yamson and Eric kwesi Taylor while Gomoa Central have Ebenezer Arthur Duncan, Moses Jehu Appiah and Ekow Dampson.

Mr. Mathew Kwofie, Acting Regional Secretary of the NDC who disclosed this to the GNA said the nomination, which opened on Wednesday July 10 and closed on Friday, July 12, 2019, fell in line with the guidelines governing the parliamentary primaries.

Regional Secretariat wished all aspirants the very best as they crisscrossed their constituencies for endorsements.

Source: Ghana News Agency