GTUC Bolgatanga Chapter elects new executives

Bolgatanga, The Bolgatanga Municipal chapter of the Ghana Trades Union Congress (GTUC) on Wednesday elected new executives to manage its affairs for the next four years.

The new executives from various union are Madam Doris Asoalla, Chairperson; Mr Elias Apasiya, 1st Vice Chairman; Madam Mamata Ibrahim, 2nd Vice Chair; Madam Ajara Issah, Secretary; Madam Anastasia Akologo, Assistant Secretary; Mr Nobert Atanga, Organizer.

The congress elected five other women to run the Women’s Committee which is now chaired by Madam Martha Lardi Agandaa; Madam Olivia Apeebia is her Vice Chairperson; Madam Cecilia Samari, Secretary.

Other members of the Committee are Madam Mavis Awuni, Assistant Secretary and Madam Modesta Asolemna, the Organizer.

In the Youth Committee category, Mr Awinbire Solomon, was elected chairman; Madam Susana Awine, 1st Vice Chairman; Madam Salamatu Daliri� Alhassan, 2nd Vice Chairperson; Madam Jane Akaatali, Secretary; Madam Rose Atia, Assistant Secretary, and Clement Atakimah Atinga, Organizer.

Mr Augustine Adongo, the Regional Secretary, said this year’s May Day celebration will be held at the Bolgatanga Jubilee Park and urged members to come in their numbers and make the event a memorable one.

Madam Doris Asoalla, the elected Chairperson for the DCL, said she would collaborate with her colleagues to examine what the district was lacking and seek ways to improve their lot.

One hundred and thirty-four members participated in the elections drawn from the various districts unions including, Teachers and Education Workers Union (TEWU), Health Service Workers Union (HSWU), Trades Union Congress (TUC), General Transport and Petroleum Workers Union (GTPWU), and the Communication Workers Union (CWU).

The rest are Public Service Workers Union (PSWU), the Civil and Local, Government Staff Association, Ghana (CLOGSAG), and the UNICOF.

Source: Ghana News Agency