VRA CEO wins Energy Personality of the year award

Accra- Mr. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, the Chief Executive Officer of Volta River Authority has emerged the male Energy Personality of The Year at the 2018 Ghana Energy Awards held in Accra.

Mrs Abigail Asolange Harley, the Chief Executive Officer of AI Group, won the female Energy Personality of the Year.

This was in a statement signed by Mr Henry Teinor, the Event Director of Ghana Energy Awards, and copied to the Ghana News Agency in Accra on Monday.

Mr Samuel Boakye�Appiah, the Chief Executive Officer of Electricity Company of Ghana won the CEO of The Year � Power, whilst Dr Ben K. Asante, the CEO of Ghana Gas won the CEO of The Year � Petroleum.

Mrs Kate Quartey-Papafio, the CEO of Reroy Group won the Female Energy Business Leadership Award whilst Dr Tony Oteng-Gyasi, the CEO of Tropical Cables, emerged with the male Energy Business Leadership Award.

Dr Charles Wereko-Brobbey and Tsatsu Tsikata, a renowned lawyer, were honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The special non-competitive awards were in recognition of their immeasurable contributions towards Ghana’s energy sector particularly at a time when the country was yet to discover oil in commercial quantities.

Mr Senyo Hosi, the Chief Executive of the Chamber of Bulk Oil Distributors, was honoured with the Osagyefo Young Leadership Award category for his outstanding efforts in the Petroleum Downstream subsector.

The Rising Star Award went to Prosper Ahmed Amuquandoh, Industry Leadership Award (Power) – Bui Power Authority; Industry Leadership Award (Petroleum) – Ghana Gas; and the Energy Company of The Year (Renewable) – Dutch and Co.

Others were: the Energy Company of the Year (Petroleum) � Ghana Oil Company Limited, (GOIL) the nation’s foremost indigenous Oil Marketing Company; Energy Company of The Year (Power) – Volta River Authority; and Energy Institution of The Year went to Energy Commission.

The rest: Emerging Energy Company of The Year (Power) – Ameri- Energy; Emerging Energy Company of The Year (Petroleum) – WI Energy; and Emerging Energy Company of The Year (Renewable) – Sun In Limited.

The rest are Innovation Project of The Year – Energy Commission; Corporate Social Responsibility Company of The Year – Kosmos Energy – Kosmos Innovation Center; Energy Consultancy Services Company of the Year – Arthur Energy Advisors; Off-Grid Energy Solution Company of the Year PEG Africa; Energy Efficient Organisation of the Year – Special Ice, Strategic Deal of the Year-Karpowership, and Excellence in Power Generation- Sunon Asogli.

Energy Efficient Organization of the Year (Public) was won by the Institute of Scientific and Industrial Research while the Brand of the Year went to Total Petroleum.

The Ghana Energy Awards is aimed at recognising innovation and excellence to spur industry stakeholders to achieve and contribute more toward the growth of the sector.

In a statement read on behalf Mr John Peter Amewu, the Minister of Energy, urged industry players to take advantage of government policies to enable them to grow.

Dr Kwame Ampofo, Chairman of the Awarding Panel, urged industry players to do their best for the sector and the country as a whole.

“Don’t let your performance end after the recognition but let it be the starting point for greater works,” he said.

Mr Teinor said the annual event was scheduled for the last Friday of every November and that the massive turnout at this year’s event is a sign that the event improved and would continue in the coming years.

Mr Tsikata commended the organisers of the event for the thoughtfulness behind the awards scheme and for the recognition given him.

He dedicated the award to the staff of the GNPC and other stakeholders he had worked with to start the company and move it to where it now stands.

Source: Ghana News Agency