The Electoral Commission (EC) has lauded Ghanaians for the peaceful and successful Presidential and Parliamentary polls held Wednesday as the people await the results of vote counting which is underway at the various polling stations.

Samuel Tettey, the EC Director of Elections, said late Wednesday that with the sole exception of the Jaman North constituency in Brong Ahafo Region (Province), where voting has been rescheduled to Thursday because of disagreements among political parties over the voters’ register, everything had proceeded smoothly.

This view was endorsed by the visiting United States Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs, Linda Thomas-Greenfield, who said that “what I have seen so far gives me high confidence in the process”.

The campaign team of incumbent President John Mahama has called on its teeming supporters, sympathisers and the voting public to remain calm as results trickle in from the various constituencies across the country.

A statement signed by team spokesperson Joyce Bawah Mogtari said: “We wish to also encourage our supporters to continue to remain calm as the ballots make their way to the constituency collation centres.

“With the details we have from our Parallel Vote Tabulation, President John Dramani Mahama is in a comfortable lead, and we encourage all supporters to wait for the Electoral Commission as it receives and releases the verified results to the media via its Coalition & Media Centres.”

According to the EC, results from polling stations within a constituency will be collated at a Constituency Collation Centre, where afterwards the Returning Officer for the Constituency will declare the winner of the Parliamentary polls.

Results of the presidential polls are forwarded to the EC headquarters in Accra for collation and final certified results will be declared by the EC Chairperson who is the Returning Officer for the Presidential Polls.

An estimated 15,712,499 registered voters were expected to cast their votes in 28,992 polling stations across the country.

Seven presidential candidates representing six political parties and an independent candidate are contesting the presidential elections — the Convention Peoples Party (CPP); National Democratic Party (NDP); National Democratic Congress (NDC); Progressive Peoples Party (PPP); New Patriotic Party (NPP) and People’s National Convention (PNC).

President John Dramani Mahama of the NDC, who is seeking a second term, is being challenged by Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the NPP, who hedefeated in the last election four years ago, as well as Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the CPP, Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom (PPP); Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings (NDP), Dr Edward Mahama (PNC) and Jacob Osei Yeboah (Independent).