SWAG to launch 43rd Awards on 25th January, 2018

Accra, The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG), is set to launch the 43rd Awards Night on Thursday, 24th January, 2018 at the media center, MTN House, Ridge Accra at 11:00 am.

The Awards, which is aimed at recognizing and rewarding outstanding sports men and women in all the sporting disciplines in the year 2017 would have Daniel Nii Adjei � (TP Mazembe, DRC), Thomas Teye Partey- (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Christian Atsu � (Newcastle, England) and Richard Boakye-Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia) all vying for the Footballer of the Year award.

In an interview with GNA Sports, Mr. William Ezah, General Secretary of SWAG, said the launch would be used to announce to the general public all the details of the event.

We are going to announce to the media and all Ghanaians the date and venue for the awards, as well as the other important details for the event.

According to him the Awards, which would coincide with SWAG’s 50th anniversary, would see some personalities being honored.

Mr Alex Asante who is a Deputy General Secretary in charge of International Competitions & International Relations and founder of Elmina Sharks Dr. Paa Kwesi Ndoum would be honored.

Mr. Asante is being honored for his hard work and contribution to the development of Ghana football over the years, with Dr. Kojo Benjamin Taylor of Sanford World Clinics, sponsors of the Women’s FA Cup and former Black Stars team Doctor Dr. Martin Engmann would also receive special award.

The 21 category awards slated for the 43rd Awards night would include Footballer of the Year, Footballer of the Year (LOCAL), Female Footballer of the Year, National Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Most Promising Star of the Year, Female Club of the Year, Male Club of the Year, Discovery of the Year and a Special Award for individuals.

Source: Ghana News Agency