Rugby Championship Introduces Women’s league

Accra, Ghana Rugby Club Championship (GRCC 2017/18) kicked off in Cape Coast on Saturday November 25, with the first official Women’s Sevens GRCC in the history of Ghana Rugby.

Four women’s teams, Conquerors Ladies, Cosmos Buffalos Ladies, Griffons Ladies and Dansoman Hurricanes Ladies, competed in the first match day to eventually become the 2017/18 GRCC Women’s Sevens Champions on Wednesday February 17, 2018.

The first match was played between Cosmos Ladies and Conquerors Ladies, which ended in a 0-0 draw.

Dansoman Ladies beat Griffons Ladies 5 to 0 in the second women’s sevens match.

Rafatu Inusha, Board Member of Women’s Representative of the Ghana Rugby Football Union (GRFU), described it as a great day for all the teams.

We saw a very challenging display by Dansoman Ladies when they were playing against Griffons Ladies. It was their very first time playing Rugby and they defended and attacked well, even though their ball handling was not flowing, but in time they will be good to go, Inusah said.

I am pleased because every team played with excitement and were all happy with the opportunity given to them. This initiative will encourage other women to get on board with rugby and also get a chance to play for the National Team, Inusah added.

The President and Board Chairman of Ghana Rugby, Mr Herbert Mensah, said that this historic event would go down as one of his administration’s biggest achievements since taking office on 5 June 2014.

From the very first strategic blueprint in 2014 the development of Women’s Rugby was placed close to the top of the long list of challenges. This introduction of an official Women’s Sevens Championship is the first step of great things to come for Women’s Rugby in Ghana and indeed in the West African Region, Mensah said.

In the Men’s 15s Club Championship, eight teams started the road to Championship, namely: Pool A � Conquerors Sporting Club, Accra Rugby Club, Dansoman Hurricanes RFC and Griffons RFC. Pool B � Dennis Foundation SC, UCC Spartans RFC, Western Cheetahs RFC, and Lions RFC. Two teams, Cosmos Buffalos RFC and Stallions RFC had a bye weekend and did not play.

Source: Ghana News Agency