Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship Begins at United Nations Headquarters, with 15 Participants in 2017 Programme

The Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship began at United Nations Headquarters in New York this week and will continue through 30 September.

Organized by the Department of Public Information for the last 37 years, the three-week programme brings together 15 young journalists representing media organizations from developing countries and those with economies in transition. The 2017 fellows � eight women and seven men working in print, broadcast and online media � are from Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Georgia, Ghana, India, Iran, Mexico, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, South Africa and Ukraine.

The Fellowship was established in 1980 by the ninety-seventh General Assembly with the aim of developing opportunities to acquaint junior and mid-level journalists with the work of the United Nations. Formerly known as the Department of Public Information Training Programme for Broadcasters and Journalists from Developing Countries, it was renamed in honour of Reham al-Farra, a young Jordanian public information officer killed in the 2003 bombing of the United Nations headquarters in Baghdad. Since its inception in 1981, 566 journalists and broadcasters from 168 countries have taken part in the Fellowship.

During their time at Headquarters, the fellows will attend briefings by United Nations officials on major issues to be addressed during the seventy-second session of the General Assembly. They will have the opportunity to meet with Permanent Representatives to the United Nations and cover the general debate of the seventy-second session. The fellows will also visit news organizations and relevant non-governmental organizations in New York City to familiarize themselves with their operations and activities.

Below is the full list of participants in the 2017 Reham al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship programme. For full biographies, please visit

Tais Gadea Lara, Argentina, Print/Web

Luiza Muzzi Almeida, Brazil, Print/Web

Melisa Jaimes Ochoa, Colombia, Print/Web/Radio

Mariela Mejia, Dominican Republic, Print/Web

Basant Rabie, Egypt, Print/Web

Andrei Jupalakiani, Georgia, TV

Gabriel Obodai Torgbor-Ashong, Ghana, TV

Devjyot Ghoshal, India, Print/Web

Fatemeh Jamalpour, Iran, Print/Web

Juan Luis Garcia Hernandez, Mexico, Print/Web

Phanindra Dahal, Nepal, Print/Web/Radio

Zoya Anwer, Pakistan, Print/Web

Michael Jobert Navallo, Philippines, TV

Bianca Capazorio, South Africa, Print/Web

Andrii Suslenko, Ukraine, TV

Source: United Nations