President Akufo-Addo nominates three new Supreme Court Justices

Accra – President Nana Akufo-Addo has selected three new Justices for the Supreme Court, subject to the approval by Parliament.

The three- Justices Mariama Owusu, Lovelace Johnson and Gertrude Tokornoo- who served in the Court of Appeal, have been elevated to the Supreme Court.

The Speaker of Parliament, Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye announced the nominees on the floor of Parliament when he read a formal communication from the President.

The three new Supreme Court Justices were nominated to replace three Justices: Justices Vida Akoto-Bamfo and Sophia Adinyira, who are now on retirement; and Chief Justice Sophia Akuffo, who is expected to retire by the end of the year.

The current Chief Justice, Sophia Akuffo, will retire on December 20, 2019.

Per Article 144 clause 1 of the 1992 Constitution, the President appoints a Justice of the Supreme Court as Chief Justice in consultation with the Council of State and with the approval of Parliament.

Source: Ghana News Agency