Government appointees to Ga North Assembly sworn-in

Amamorley (GAR) The four government appointees to the Ga North Municipal Assembly have been sworn-in by Madam Patricia Quansah, a Circuit Judge of Amasaman Municipality.

They are Madam Gifty Ofori, Madam Gibrilla Osumanu, Mr Duah Kwaku and Nii Kortey Boi II, Chief of Ofankor and Presiding Member of the Ga West Municipal Assembly.

Mr Clement Nii Lamptey Wilkinson, the Ga West Municipal Chief Executive in an address called on the Assembly Members and Government Appointees of the Ga North Municipal Assembly to fast-track the election of a Presiding Member (PM) to assist the Coordinating Director who is acting as the Municipal Chief Executive for the Assembly.

He said the two nominees for the position of PM, Mr Richard Osei, assembly member for Nii Akraman/Alhaji and Nii Kortey Boi II, Chief of Ofankor had six votes each during the first and second rounds of voting and that the third balloting would take place on Tuesday, May 15, at Amamorley.

The new Ga North Municipal Assembly has eight electoral areas which include Nii Akraman/Alhaji, Fisee, Afiaman, Ofankor, Central, Trobu and Pokuase.

Mr Moses Anim, the Member of Parliament for Trobu appealed for the early release of the District Assembly Common Fund to the new assembly to enable it complete ongoing projects which were formerly being implemented by the Ga West Municipal Assembly.

He said it would also pave way for the Assembly to launch its own development projects to open up the area.

Mrs Moira Nancy Ewa, the Coordinating Director and the Acting Chief Executive for the Ga North Municipal Assembly appealed for early appointment of Chief Executive for the Assembly to facilitate the development of the municipality.

Source: Ghana News Agency