Ghana Energy Awards honour 20 companies and individuals

Accra, The Ghana Energy Awards Committee have honoured 20 corporate bodies and individuals for their innovations, achievements and excellence in helping to grow the country’s power, oil and gas sectors towards national development.

The maiden prestigious national awards, which was backed by the World Energy Council, Ministry of Energy and its allied agencies, celebrated contributions and tremendous work of industry players over the years.

A statement from the awards committee and copied to the Ghana News Agency said more than 60 companies and individuals were shortlisted for the grand awards that took place at the Labadi Beach Hotel in Accra.

Mr Peter Amewu, Minister of Lands and Natural Resources, who was the Special Guest of Honour, expressed excitement about the organisation of the award, which sought to inspire hard work and innovations for national growth.

He said there was the need for the country to shift from conventional forms of energy to renewable sources that would reposition the country for accelerated economic expansion and improvement in living conditions of the citizenry.

Mr Ing Emmanuel Dankwa Osafo, Director, Generation and Transmission at the Ministry of Energy, who spoke on behalf of the Chief Director of the Ministry said: awards scheme of this nature will go a long way into shaping the industry and enhance competition.

He commended Energy Media Group and GP Business Associates � organisers of the event – for the excellent job done as the gala received tremendous patronage from the wider public including ministers of state, parliamentarians and development partners, current and former ministers.

Mr Henry Teinor, the CEO of Energy Media Group said: This will help the youth and many emerging energy companies to do their best. The massive turn out at this maiden edition says it all that the scheme has come to stay.

Among some of the notable dignitaries that graced the function were Dr Ekow Spio Gabrah, former Minister of Trade and Industry as well as the leadership of the Parliamentary Select Committee on Mines and Energy led by Mr Adam Mutawakilu.

Mr Patrick A.K. Akorli won the CEO of the year � Petroleum award, Ing William Amuna took the CEO of the year � power award while Mrs Kate Quartey-Papafio of Reroy Cables received energy personality of the year � Female with Dr Ofosu Ahenkorah scooping the energy personality of the year � Male.

Mrs Gloria Afua Akuffo, Minister of Justice and Attorney General and Mrs Marietta brew Appiah-Oppong, for Minister of Justice and Attorney General received honorary award for outstanding contribution to the energy sector by Ghana Gas.

Dr Ismael Ephraim Ackah swept the rising star award while Dasmani Issifu Laary, Upper West Regional Manager of Ghana News Agency scooped the best energy reporter of the year.

Strategic Power Solutions won the emerging company of the year � renewable. Bui Power Authority took Emerging Energy Company of the year � power while blue ocean investments limited received the Emerging Energy Company of the year � petroleum with the Energy Commission taking the Energy Institution of the year.

GOIL was adjudged Brand Company of the year, Total Petroleum Ghana received Corporate Social Responsibility of the year, innovation project of the year went Translight solar limited while Ghana gas limited was honoured best local content compliance company of the year.

Tullow oil grabbed exploration and production company of the year, Go Energy company limited had bulk oil distribution company of the year with vivo energy (Shell) taking away oil and gas marketing company of the year award, while Energy service provider of the year went to General electric/Baker Hughes.

Wilkins engineering limited took the renewable energy company of the year, industry leadership award � petroleum went to Ghana National Petroleum Company, Volta river authority was honoured industry leadership award � power.

Organisers of the event said the award scheme is in talks with some companies to provide grant package for the Energy Reporter of the Year, Rising Star Award and Innovation Project of The Year.

Source: Ghana News Agency