Curfew on four townships renewed

Accra� The Ministry of the Interior has renewed the curfew hours on four townships.

They are Bimbilla from 1800 hours to 0600 hours and Kpatinga from 1200 midnight to 0400 hours both of the Northern Region, effective May 25, 2018 while that of Alavanyo and Nkonya in the Volta Region is from 1800 hours to 0600 hours, effective May 27, 2018.

A statement signed by Mr Ambrose Dery, the Sector Minister, and copied to the Ghana News Agency on Thursday, said the renewal of the curfew hours was upon the advice of their various Regional Security Councils and by Executive Instrument.

It said the ban on carrying arms, ammunition or any offensive weapon was still in force and that any person found with arms or ammunition would be arrested and prosecuted.

The statement urged the people to exercise restraint in the face of the challenges confronting them and to use non-violent means to ensure peace in the area.

Source: Ghana News Agency