Businessman voted NDC UW Regional Chairman

Wa, (UWR)� Mr Abdul-Nasir Mohammed Saani, a 48-year-old businessman has been elected as the new Regional Chairman of the largest opposition New Democratic Congress (NDC) in Upper West Region.

Mr Saani who is widely known as Bunass won his landslide victory by 307 votes leaving his incumbent contender Mr Song-Anbu Mathew with 81 votes out of 389 votes cast.

Mr Saani addressing delegates and party founders as part of his short victory speech expressed gratitude to all party members for the trust and support they had in him by giving him the chairmanship position to lead their great NDC party.

The newly elected Chairman said his agenda set for the party was to get back all the five seats in the region and lead to help the party win 2020 general elections.

He however pleaded with all members to give him same backing as they gave to the previous leaders to help move the Party forward in the Region.

Other positions contested included; the Regional First and Second Vice Chairmen positions, Regional Secretary, Deputy Regional Secretary, Regional Organizer, Deputy Regional Organizer, Regional Treasurer and its Deputy, Regional Communication officer, Deputy Regional Communication, Regional Youth Organizer and its Deputy, Regional Women Organizer, Deputy Regional women Organizer and Regional Zongo Caucus.

For the Regional Vice Chairman Position, Kwame Mumuni polled 112 votes to be the first Vice Chairman, followed by Issah Musah with 108 votes as the second vice chairman.

Mr Charles Lwanga Puozuing also polled 179 votes to win the Regional Secretary position while his closest contender, Mr Dapilah Cletus Seidu polled 178 votes.

The other contenders for the position are Mr Eric Dakurah Faanuba, 10 votes and Mr Dominic Zeniyelle with 21votes.

For the Deputy Regional Secretary position, Alhaji Nurah Issah Danwana polled 346 votes to become the Deputy Secretary, while his contender Mr Lord Michael W. Baatuolkuu managed with 43 vot

Prince Razak Abdul Moomin Tachi polled 137votes to become the Regional Treasurer, beating his closest rival, Mr Carlos Ibrahim Chireh who polled 124 votes while the other contestants, Mr Abdulai Santi Batiah and Mahmudu Muhsin polled 82 and 43 votes respectively.

Mr Abu Abdul-Wahab Gieri polled 198 votes to win the Deputy Regional Treasurer position beating his two rivals, Mr Benjamin Boro, 109 votes and Mr Osman Rayan 82 votes.

The Regional Organizer position was between Mr Issahaku Nuhu Putiah with 276 votes making him the winner and Mr Thomas S. Ngminbahaara had 113 votes.

For the Deputy Regional Organizer portfolio, Basiera Saankara polled 266 votes to win his one man contender Mr Issahaku Karifa Salim 123 votes.

Mr Puo-Ire Prosper polled 204 votes to win the Regional Communication position against the incumbent Mr Issah Kantagyeri with 184 votes.

With its Deputy position, the incumbent, Madam Eunice Kaminta was re-elected with 193 votes to Mr Alhassan Sharifdeen Shash and Jinsung A. Rashid, 127 and 68 votes respectively.

Hajia Cecilia Salmata Hamza, the incumbent Women Organizer was also re-elected with 20 votes against her rival Madam Alice Boom, 16 votes.

Madam Prisca Domenyevi Kuupol Bagonluri took the Deputy women organizer position with 14 votes. The other contestants included, Mahama Memuna Yahaya, 12 votes, Madam Florence Kpan six votes and Madam Zaria Sabobogu with three votes.

Mr Moomen Abdul-Razak got 221votes to become the Regional Zongo Caucus beating Aziz Awudu with 167 votes.

The Regional Youth Organizer position was contested by Mr Nicodemus N.B.D Dery, 34 votes to win youth wing. His close contenders, Prince Mahamoud polled 11 votes and Mr Rashid Bickson had two votes.

Abdul-Rahaman Zakaria Markus won as Regional Deputy Youth Organizer with 19 votes against Mr Polukuu Titus, 18 votes.

A.Y. Mumuni scored seven votes and while Mr Tamimu Issah went for a single vote.

The election was supervised by the Regional Electoral Commission (EC) under a very tight security, and it ended peacefully.

Source: Ghana News Agency