Six Minority MPs file motion for parliamentary probe into election violence

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) side in Parliament has tabled a motion in Parliament demanding a full-scale investigation into acts of violence that characterised the 2020 parliamentary and presidential elections in some areas.

The private member’s motion filed by the six NDC MPs wants the probe to rope in inappropriate interference by state security agents during the elections.

Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu, Minority Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak, Bawku Central Member of Parliament, Mahama Ayariga, Tamale North MP, Alhassan Suhuyini, and the Ranking Member for Parliament’s Defence and Interior committee James Agalga are the brains behind the motion.

Seven people who lost their lives during the 2020 general elections were mentioned in the private member’s motion.

They are; Tajudeen Alhassan, Abdullah Ayaric, Emmanuel Dompreh, Samira Zakaria, Ibrahim Abass, Rita Otoo and Fuseini Musah.

Police had announced that 61 cases of election-related violence were recorded across the country of which involved gunshots.

Some Ghanaians and Civil Society Organisations called an independent probe into the matter. The OneGhana Movement and the Coalition of Domestic Observers (CODEO) were some bodies that called for an investigation into the violence.

The Minority in Parliament had also called for the head of the Inspector General of Police, James Oppong-Boanuh citing his inability to protect Ghanaians during the elections.

Source: Modern Ghana



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

I agree to these terms.