Diku, Idrissu, Kamaladeen & Ofori return as eight local players named in Black Stars squad for Morocco and Ivory Coast friendlies

Ghana coach, CK Akonnor has named a 30-man squad for an international friendly against Morocco and Ivory Coast.

Ghana is scheduled to play against Morocco on Tuesday, June 8 in Rabat before taking on Ivory Coast on Saturday, June 12, 2021, at the Cape Coast Stadium.

This comes following the postponement of the 2022 World Cup qualifiers by Caf due to Covid-19 complications.

Ghana was scheduled to play Ethiopia o June 4 before playing South Africa in three days time in Johannesburg.

In order to keep the team in good shape, the technical team will access the Black Stars players with both friendlies.

The squad include eight home players. The coach rewarded most of the home-based players by calling Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko), Ibrahim Danlad (King Faisal), Ismail Ganiyu (Asante Kotoko), Joseph Adjei (Legon Cities), Rashid Nortey (Medeama SC), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC) and Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Steadfast FC).

Former Asante Kotoko striker Kwame Opoku who now plays for USM Alger has also been included in the squad.

Tariqe Fosu, Daniel Amartey, Frank Acheampong, Richard Ofori, Alexander Djiku and Kamaldeen Sulemana return to the team.

Veterans Andre Ayew, Mubarak Wakaso and Jordan Ayew were also handed call-ups alongside Arsenal midfielder Thomas Partey.

Here’s a full list of the 30 man squad:

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Orlando Pirates), Razak Abalora (Asante Kotoko), Ibrahim Danlad (King Faisal)

Left back: Baba Abdul Rahman (PAOK), Gideon Mensah (Vitoria Guimaraes)

Right back: Andy Yaidom (Reading FC), Philemon Baffuor (Dreams FC)

Centre back: Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg FC), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Ismail Ganiyu (Asante Kotoko), Joseph Adjei (Legon Cities), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens FC)

Midfield: Mubarak Wakaso (Shenzhen FC), Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Kudus Mohammed (Ajax Amsterdam), Rashid Nortey (Medeama SC), Abdul Fatawu Issahaku (Steadfast FC), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens SC), Gladson Awako (Great Olympics), Baba Idrissu (RCD Mallorca)

Left Wing: Samuel Owusu (Al-Fayha FC), Emmanuel Gyasi (Spezia), Frank Acheampong (Shenzhen FC), Tariqe Fosu Henry (Brentford FC)

Right Wing: Kamal Sowah (OH Leuven), Kamaldeen Sulemana (Nordsjaelland)

Forward: Andre Ayew (Swansea City FC), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace FC), Kwame Opoku (USM Alger), Joseph Paintsil (Ankaragücu).

Source: Modern Ghana



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *